Skip navigation

Service Project Ideas

Compiled from Convention 2011 Panel: Be Smart and Serve

School: Northwest Nazarene (ID)    
Group Served: Refugees
Services/Projects: Assistance applying for housing; Readathon (Read Cry the Beloved Country)
Contact: Lindsey Bramson, LBRAMSON@nnu.edu

School: Johnson C. Smith University (NC)
Group Served: Elementary students, ages 7-10
Services/Projects: Reading Coaches & Mentors; Poetry Café/Work with Peace Ambassadors addressing bullying, abuse, kindness, etc.; Read & Write & Create Artwork on similar topics; Post around campus
Contact: Darril Marshall, DMARSHALL@jcmail.jcsu.edu

School: Johnson C. Smith U (NC)
Group Served: College students
Services/Projects: Jingle Mingle raises literacy awareness & increases faculty/student engagement
Contact: Darril Marshall, DMARSHALL@jcmail.jcsu.edu

School: Clarion University (PA) and Penn State (PA)
Group Served: Susan G. Komen for the Cure and Hershey Breast Cancer Center
Services/Projects: Read for the Cure and Race for the Cure  raffles, silent auction, reading
Contact: Rebecca Diehl, R.A.DIEHL@eagle.clarion.edu

School: College of New Jersey
Group Served: College students
Services/Projects: SWAT Team:  Students Writing & Talking.  Chapter members tutoring students' working on papers
Contacts: Todd Petty, PETTY4@tcnj.edu and Kathryn Brenzel, BRENZELZ@tcnj.edu

School: College of New Jersey
Group Served: Trenton Library
Services/Projects: Collect books to sell to raise funds for Trenton Library
Contacts: Todd Petty, PETTY4@tcnj.edu and Kathryn Brenzel, BRENZELZ@tcnj.edu

School: College of New Jersey
Group Served: Youth Ages 7-11
Services/Projects: Kids Days Out:  young come to College of New Jersey for day of magnetic poetry, art projects, face painting
Contacts: Todd Petty, PETTY4@tcnj.edu and Kathryn Brenzel, BRENZELZ@tcnj.edu

School: College of New Jersey
Group Served: Hospital pediatrics wring
Services/Projects: Collect school supplies
Contacts: Todd Petty, PETTY4@tcnj.edu and Kathryn Brenzel, BRENZELZ@tcnj.edu

School: Auburn University (AL)
Group Served: Campus Community
Services/Projects: Martin Luther King Day ON, not Day OFF Reflections breakfast, tutoring
Contact: Antonio Byrd, ABYRD3@avm.edu

School: Auburn University (AL)
Group Served: Youth with disabilities, Catholic Mission Church School
Services/Projects: On MLK Day, Lead art and dance, clean toys, clean horse stalls, labor
Contact: Antonio Byrd, ABYRD3@aum.edu

School: University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire (WI)
Groups Served:  K-6th grade students & 7-12th grade students
Services/Projects:  Run Children's Writing Contest and Young Adults' Writing Contest and bind books of winning submissions and hold reading ceremony
Contacts:  Meredith Molnar, MOLMARMM@uwec.edu and Ashlyn Wells, WELLSA@uwec.edu

School:  Plaza College (NY)
Group Served:  Women's shelter
Services/Projects:  V Day including tickets to Vagina Monologues, working with women's shelter to offer Poetry slam, sell food, raffle donated items
Contacts: Jonathan Howle, JHOWLE@plazacollege.edu and Melissa Tortora, MTORTORA@mail.plazacollege.edu

School:  Saginaw Valley State (MI)
Group Served: Hospice patients and families
Services/Projects: Record life stories of hospice patients
Contact: Jamie Wendorf, JCWENDOR@svsu.edu